Social Media: Our Friend

Image: Google Images

I listened to a podcast where Mark Ragan, CEO of Ragan Communications played the role of an executive who is unsure if social media is right for his business.  What the podcast showed, is that it is definitely a “friend” for businesses.

 

1. What did I learn? 

  • Blogging is important: Blogging is necessary for an organization to build relationships with customers.  They say that blogging will create a bond and a trust between them and their customers.  The customers will be able to keep track on what they are doing and will be able to communicate with them.  They desire for their customers to have the ability to ask a question and receive an answer promptly.

2. What surprised me?

  • How seriously they are taking blogging.  When I think of blogging I think of light, fluffy, fun stuff.  Maybe it is just because I am a girl and honestly, the only blogs I am concerned about are fashion blogs – but companies like these take it very seriously.  They were explaining how they want several of their employees to blog about what they are doing and any new accomplishments and they want their posts to be a steady occurrence.
  • It also surprised me that they want their company to be transparent.  They want to expose the culture of the organization to the public.  It is very rare that a company wants to do that!

3. What do I want to learn more about?

  • I would like to see how many companies actually really feel this way and desire to be so transparent with customers.  I would also like to see how many companies actually blog!  Like they said, blogging is very important for a company, and it can make or break their reputation.

    Image: Google Images
Leave a Reply

